Your privacy is extremely important to us. We want you to understand exactly what joining a WHOOP team entails.
When creating a team or joining a team, we give WHOOP members the ability to invite other members to their team. To do so, they can search for the name or username of an existing member they wish to invite. However, we also allow WHOOP members to control whether or not they appear in search results.
To adjust these settings, open the menu in the WHOOP app and navigate to "Privacy." If "Team Invitations" is toggled OFF, you will not appear in any search results. As a result, if you desire to join a team, you will have to enter an invite code.
Check out this article to learn how to enter an invite code.
Sharing WHOOP Metrics
Teams have the option of sharing Strain, Recovery, and Sleep metrics with its members. Upon creating the team, the owner specifies which WHOOP metrics will be displayed and shared among the team. To protect the privacy of each team member, these leaderboards cannot be changed once the team has been created.
Upon beginning to join a team, you will be able to see exactly what data will be shared prior to joining the team. Your data is only shared once you have accepted and joined a team. Below is a breakdown of exactly what metrics are included in each category.
Example: Shown below, members of "Team YMCA" will only be able to see Strain metrics. In the "Hoops I did it again" Team, members will be able to see all of the 3 metrics including Strain, Recovery, and Sleep.
The Strain Leaderboard displays Daily, Weekly, and Monthly statistics. The main metrics shared include:
- Activities logged
- Activity Strain
- Day Strain
- Calories Burned
The Recovery Leaderboard displays Daily, Weekly, and Monthly statistics. The main metrics shared include:
- Recovery score
The Sleep Leaderboard displays Daily, Weekly, and Monthly statistics. The main metrics shared include:
- Sleep Performance
- Hours of Sleep